Scholarly Impact: Submission

Circulation Desk

• Phone: (478) 301-2612

Reference Service

• reference@law.mercer.edu

Law Library Website

LAWCAT online catalog

Library Director

Billie Jo Kaufman

• kaufman_b@law.mercer.edu
• Phone: (478) 301-2665

Librarians

Sharon Bradley

• bradley_s@law.mercer.edu
• Phone: (478) 301-2638  

Ismael Gullon

• gullon_i@law.mercer.edu
• Phone: (478) 301-5904

Staff

Amberly Cole

• cole_ad@law.mercer.edu
• Phone: (478) 301-2982

Brenna McNulty

• mcnulty_b@law.mercer.edu
• Phone: (478) 301-2614

Julie Register

• register_j@law.mercer.edu
• Phone: (478) 301-2613

Selecting a Journal

Washington & Lee Law Journal Rankings

• Find journals by subject, country, or journal rank. Counts citations to journals in two Westlaw databases: U.S. journal and law reviews, and U.S. federal and state cases.
  • Instructions for Using the W&L Law Journal Rankings

E-Journal Portal

• Title list of journals & periodicals available online.

HeinOnline Law Journal Library

• 100 most-cited articles, journals, or authors
• Look for Most-Cited button in Browse-by:

Journal Citation Reports

Law Journal Meta-Ranking 2023 Edition

• The ranking table includes 191 flagship law reviews from ABA accredited law schools.

100 Most Popular General Student Law Reviews 

• Rankings based on how many articles were submitted to each journal through the ExpressO online submission service.

Finding Other Researchers/Working Papers

Bepress Legal Repository

• The site contains working papers and other materials from law schools, institutes, research centers, conferences and think tanks.

Law Review Commons

• The Law Review Commons brings together a growing collection of law reviews and legal journals in an easily browsable and searchable format. It contains both current issues and archival content spanning over 100 years. All Law Review Commons publications are made freely available online through their institutions’ bepress Digital Commons repositories.

Submitting Articles

Information for Submitting Articles to Law Reviews & Journals

• Article by Allen Rostron and Nancy Levit. Describes the process for submitting articles. The first chart contains information about each journal’s preferences about methods for submitting articles (e.g., e-mail, Scholastica, or regular mail), as well as special formatting requirements and how to request an expedited review.  The second chart contains rankings information. Updated Jan. 2024.

SCHOLASTICA

• Scholastica is an online submission management tool that enables you to submit an article to multiple law reviews at one time.
  • Use the resources above to select appropriate publications.
• Scholastica's Guide for Law Authors
• The law school has an institutional account.
  • Each submission is $6.50 but by activating your account and associating yourself with Mercer Law, the cost is covered.
• Activate your personal account
  • Go to Scholastica login and click the 'I Need to Sign Up' button to create an account. You must use your Mercer email address.
  • You should receive a confirmation email. Click the confirm button in the email and you will be taken to your account page within Scholastica. From here, you can start a submission.

Publish or Perish is a software program that retrieves and analyzes academic citations.

Are you applying for tenure, promotion or a new job? Do you need to prepare for your performance appraisal? Publish or Perish is designed to help individual academics to present their case for research impact to its best advantage, even if you have very few citations.

You can also use it to decide which journals to submit to, to prepare for a job interview, to do a literature review, or to do bibliometric research.