Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Services to Students: Your Library

LIBRARY CONTACTS

Circulation Desk

  • Phone: (478) 301-2612

Reference Service


Library Director

Billie Jo Kaufman

Librarians

Sharon Bradley

Ismael Gullon

John Perkins

Staff

Lynn Bloodworth

Ethel Dennis 

Julie Register

Labrina Solomon

Library Services and Resources

From the Library portion of the Student Handbook


Library Hours

The law library is open to law students with a BearCard (building access card) whenever the building is open.

Circulation

Circulation desk service, including the reserve collection, is available fall and spring semesters during the hours listed below. Summer and holiday hours are abbreviated and posted in the library and on the law school and law library’s websites.

  • Monday-Thursday 8:00am–8:00pm
  • Friday 8:00am–5:00pm
  • Saturday Closed
  • Sunday 1:00pm–8:00pm

Carrels & Tables

Carrels and tables are available for study on a first-come, first-serve basis. Personal items left in carrels are subject to removal. Items of value, including laptops, should never be left unattended.

Do not tack, tape, or permanently affix anything to carrels, tables, walls, doors, end panels, or other furniture and equipment in the library.

Cell Phones

Cell phones should be on silent.  All calls must be taken in the lobby area.

Employment Opportunities for Law Students

The library hires second-and third-year law students as Library Assistants. The hiring process is competitive. Working in the library is an excellent opportunity to work with a variety of legal resources on a routine basis. If you are interested in working in the library, inquire at the Circulation Desk.

Food and Drink Policy

Cold foods, such as fruit, nuts, candy bars and crackers are permitted in the law library and study rooms. Meals and hot foods, such as pizza, burgers, and soup are not permitted. Drinks in closed, non-disposable containers are welcome in the library. Styrofoam cups,cans, or other open containers of any kind are not permitted. Students are expected to dispose of all trash promptly and properly and clean up any spills or messes.

Inter-library Loan

If the library does not own an item you need, it is highly likely available from another library. Inter-library loan request forms are available at the Circulation Desk. Email reference@law.mercer.edu for assistance.

Internet Access

There are wireless access points throughout the law library, providing students with laptop access to the network and to printing.

LawCat

LawCat is the law library’s online catalog of library holdings, including print and online resources. LawCat is available on the web and at designated computers in the library. For assistance using LawCat, inquire at the reference desk.

Lexis, Westlaw,and Bloomberg Law

Law students receive Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law passwords and instruction before or during orientation.  Access is reviewed in the Introduction to Legal Research class. Student passwords are valid for the rest of  the student’s career at the law school. Sharing these passwords violates our licenses with these vendors. Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law place restrictions on passwords as described in the contracts that students enter in to with these vendors when they register their personal passwords. Questions about access and use of Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg Law should be directed to Billie Jo Kaufman at kaufman_b@law.mercer.edu or reference@law.mercer.edu.

Library Website

The library web site, is a gateway to specialized legal research databases and sources, including full text sources and journal indexes. In addition, students will find a variety of subject guides to legal research, including an extensive list of Georgia resources.

Lost and Found

The circulation desk is the temporary repository for personal items found in the library. If you find or lose an item,ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.

Microfiche and Microfilm

All microfiche, microfilm,  and a reader are on the third floor. The reader scans so one can print pages on the network printers.

Photocopying

Two photocopiers are located on the main floor of the library. All can reduce,enlarge, and make double-sided copies. The copiers next to the circulation desk and on Mulberry also collate. Copies are 5 cents per page. The student BearCard serves as a copycard if funds for copying are applied to the card via Mercer University Auxiliary Services webpage. Students may get a copycard by using the value transfer station next to the circulation desk in the law library. Credit cards are only accepted online: http://auxiliary.mercer.edu/bear-card/deposits/. No credit cards are accepted in person

Printing

There are 5 Wepa Kiosk printers in the law school: 2 in the student lounge (first floor), 2 in the library (second floor) and 1 in the IT tech lounge (third floor). Students receive $16 in free print credits (200 pages) at the beginning of the academic year. Student print accounts are charged $0.08 for each black & white page printed and $0.25 for each color page printed. Additional print credits may be purchased with a debit or credit card at the Wepa Kiosk. Note you are charged a fee if you add less than $5 to your account. Print jobs sent to the Lexis printer are not charged against student accounts at this time, but are included in the law library’s subscription for LexisAdvance. Ask for assistance to print to a laser printer or to print on legal size paper.

Public Access Workstations

Two public access workstations are located under the windows behind the Reference stacks. These workstations, which are available to attorneys and the general public as well as to the Mercer community, provide access to a number of electronic resources, including Georgia and federal primary law.

Reference

Reference services are provided by librarians to assist users in locating information, developing effective research strategies, and identifying the appropriate online and print resources to use in conducting legal research. Reference service is available fall and spring semesters during the hours listed below. Summer and holiday hours are abbreviated and are posted in advance at the reference desk and on the law library website.

Reference services (FALL, 2020) will be available via online (Zoom) or you may email your need to reference@law.mercer.edu.  You may contact reference librarians by phone.  Office appointments may be arranged. You must wear a mask.

  • Monday-Friday: 10:00am to 5:00pm
  • Saturday: Closed
  • Sunday: Closed

Reserve Materials

Reserve materials, consisting of items placed on reserve for current classes and other high-use items, are behind the circulation desk. Reserve items may be checked out for two-hour use in the library. Some reserve items also may be checked out for overnight use two hours before closing, and must be returned with in one hour of opening on the following day. Lists of course reserve materials are available on LawCat, the online catalog, and may be retrieved by either the course name or the professor’s name.

Scanning

The photocopiers next to the circulation desk and in the Mulberry Wing of the library also serve as scanners. Students may scan and email documents to their law school email address, at no charge. For large documents, ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk. Scanners are also available in the first and third floor tech lounges.

Study Rooms and Smart Suites

Nine study rooms are available for group study.  Maximum numbers for groups study rooms (FALL, 2020 = 2). All are equipped with whiteboards. The third floor study rooms have technology to facilitate collaboration. These rooms can also be used for practicing oral arguments and presentations as well as for reviewing practice sessions.

Walnut Wing 225, 226  
Mulberry Wing 215, 216  
Third Floor 345, 346, 347, 348, 351 Equipped with projectors, monitors, DVD players

Law students may checkout whiteboard supplies at  the Circulation Desk for two-hour periods. Students may reserve room 351 in the portal. Personal belongings may not be left in study rooms while the student goes to class. Study rooms and smart suites are open during library hours. The Lawyers’ Reading Room is not a study room. It is reserved for use by members of the bar or by the Dean’s Office for meetings or teaching.

Tobacco Policy

No tobacco or vaping is allowed. Smoking is prohibited in all indoor locations. All buildings on all campuses are tobacco and smoke-free. This includes vapor/electronic smoking devices and chewing tobacco.

Checkout Time and Fine/Fees Chart

Loan Type for Students Days Fine/Fee Grace Period
Reserve Books/Equipment 24 Hours because of COVID-19 .25/Hour 30 Minutes
Reference Books Non Circulating/Copies Only .05 Per Copy NA
Journals on Mulberry Wing Non Circulating/Copies Only .05 Per Copy NA
Treatises/ GA Collection on Mulberry Wing 14 Days Loan .25/Day 1 Day
Reporters on Mulberry Wing Non Circulating/Copies Only .05 Per Copy NA
Books on Walnut Wing 14 Days Loan .25/Day 1 Day
Codes/Regulations for States on Walnut Wing Non Circulating/Copies Only .05 Per Copy NA
Books on Third Floor 14 Days Loan .25/Day 1 Day
Microfiche on Third Floor Non Circulating/Copies Only .05 Per Copy

NA

Adjustments have been made to reserve items circulating time due to the COVID -19 pandemic.  Reserve items originally were checked out for 2 hours. The new 24 hours term is temporary and may change.

Lost books are charged at replacement cost + a $15.00 processing fee.  Lost and replacement charges will be waived if the item is returned. 


From the Library portion of the Student Handbook

Welcome to the Library

August 2020

I’m delighted to welcome you to the Mercer Law School and the Furman Smith Law Library on behalf of the law library’s professional and support staff.  The law library's mission is to provide excellent services to assist its users in locating legal information and resources. The services that the law library provide include research and reference services, instruction, guest presentations, and technical services to insure access to all of the library's print and electronic resources

Students, faculty, staff, alums, and attorneys have access to our rich and varied collection of print and electronic resources, both legal and non-legal.  All of the library’s resources are accessible in the law library's online catalog, and many of the resources available in the Mercer University main library are available in the catalog as well.  

In addition, the law library’s spaces provide for comfortable research and study areas for quiet study or collaborative work.  You may visit our web site or contact us to learn more about our services and resources.  Please let me know how we can better serve you.

Billie Jo Kaufman
Director of the Law Library and Visiting Professor of Law

Mercer University Law LibraryMercer University School of Law  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |   ABA Required Disclosures  | Contact Site Administrator 
Mercer University School of Law - 1021 Georgia Avenue Macon, GA 31207 | 478-301-2605 |  All rights reserved.