Art and Cultural Heritage Law: Databases

A - Z Lists of Databases

• Mercer Law Library
• Mercer University/Tarver Library

Guides & Indexes

• Foreign Law Guide: Current Sources of Codes and Basic Legislation in Jurisdictions of the World
  • This title has been a staple in the area of foreign legal research for more than a decade. Included are brief overviews of the legal systems of over 170 jurisdictions, as well as lists of each jurisdiction's codes, court reports, and other significant legal literature. For information on art-related and/or cultural property laws, check under the "Art," "Cultural Property," and/or "Culture, Entertainment, and Sports" headings for each country listing. Note that there is a separate entry for the European Union.
• Index to Legal Periodicals

Databases

• ABI/INFORM Collection (ProQuest)
  • Articles in all areas of business; market, industry and SWOT analysis reports, studies, and other business news, with a strength in global coverage.
• Art & Architecture Source (EBSCO)
• Arts & Humanities (ProQuest)
• Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
• Subject Compilations of State Laws (HeinOnline)
• Indigenous Peoples of the Americas: History, Culture, and Law
  • With more than 700 unique titles and 750,000 pages dedicated to Native American law, this collection includes an expansive archive of treaties, federal statutes and regulations, federal case law, tribal codes, constitutions, and jurisprudence.
• JSTOR
  • Journal articles and books, primarily in the humanities and social sciences.
• Lexis Plus
  • Treatise
    • Art Law Deskbook
  • Practical Guidance - Practice Notes
    • Copyright Enforcement Resource Kit
    • New York City Landmarks Preservation Commission: Designation and Regulatory Process
    • Tribal Cultural and Historic Preservation
• Oxford Art Online
  • Articles on the visual arts from prehistory through the present, images, and the Dictionary of Art
• Project MUSE
  • Journal articles in literature, history, visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, and gender studies.
• U.S. Treaties and Agreements Library (HeinOnline)
  • Includes all U.S. treaties, whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. This is the world's largest and most complete online collection of U.S. treaties and agreements and includes such prominent collections as the United States Treaties and Other International Agreements set (commonly referred to as the "Blue set"), as well as famous sets from Bevans, Miller, Malloy and others.
• Westlaw Precision
  • Darraby on Art Law
    • Synthesizes the field of art law and provides a valuable resource for artists, talent, attorneys, museums, curators, galleries, dealers and collectors, corporate and institutional libraries, and all those working in the arts, creative industries, and intellectual property.
  • Lindey on Entertainment, Publishing & the Arts
    • Provides expert coverage of entertainment law, mass communications, and the arts. Includes state-of-the-art forms and detailed guidance for drafting agreements.

Internet Sites

• ArThemis
  • From the Art-Law Centre of the University of Geneva, "is a fully searchable database containing case notes about art and cultural property disputes settled through alternative resolution methods or traditional judicial proceedings."
• AATA Online
  • AATA Online is a free research database containing abstracts of literature related to the preservation and conservation of material cultural heritage. It has been managed and published by the Getty since 1983. AATA Online contains over 148,000 records and adds approximately 4,000 new records each year through regular updates.
• Smithsonian Institution Research Resources
  • The Smithsonian has wealth of information to support researchers and learners of all types. Whatever the discipline may be, we have online resources and experts who are eager to share knowledge and collaborate. Our investigations unfold at research centers, field sites, and museums in the United States and around the globe.
• United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Archives
  • The UNESCO Archives hold large photo and audiovisual archives as well as archives of UNESCO Field Offices and archives of some international non-governmental organizations.
• United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Library
  • While the UNESCO Library primarily serves members of UNESCO's Secretariat, the website provides access to UNESCO publications and other important documents.