The books listed here are just suggestions and not a comprehensive list of relevant items.
To expand your search, use subject headings in the online catalogs.
Some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings related to art law are:
Some suggested Library of Congress Subject Headings for cultural property law are:
Use WorldCat to locate books in libraries outside Mercer. You can use the inter-library loan service to request materials from other libraries.
Inter-Library Loan (ILL)
TREATISES
Art Law by
Widely acknowledged as the cornerstone reference for visual art professionals and their attorneys since it was first published in 1989, Art Law provides unsurpassed legal, business, financial, tax, and estate planning information and guidance for this major sector of the creative arts.Written by two of America’s foremost art law authorities.
Art Law in a Nutshell by
Art Law in a Nutshell presents an overview of the legal issues concerning art. It covers the definition of art, and the theft and movement of art in wartime and peacetime. It examines the business of art for artists, dealers, museums, and collectors, including art as an investment, auctions, authentication, insurance, tax issues for artists and collectors, working artist issues, and aid to the arts. It also explains the intellectual property issues of copyright, trademark, moral rights and economic rights, right of publicity, and First Amendment freedom of expression rights.
Mastering Art Law by
This work tracks all art law casebooks. It deals with the rights and responsibilities of artists and collectors in areas such as freedom of expression, copyright, moral rights, and tax. It treats commercial dealings in art, such as authentication or ownership of the work (including litigation problems), and commercial relationships between artists, collectors, dealers, auction houses and financiers, as well as legal problems of museums. Preservation of art in war is discussed, as well as its movement across national boundaries and historic preservation, the ownership of artifacts found on land or underwater, and Native American items.
Visual Arts and the Law by
This essential handbook offers art professionals and collectors an accessible legal analysis of important principles in art law, as well as a practical guide to legal rights when creating, buying, selling and collecting art in a global market. Although the book is international in scope, there is a particular focus on the US as a major art centre and the site of countless key international court cases. This authoritative but accessible and wide-ranging volume is essential reading for arts advisors, collectors, dealers, auction houses, museums, investors, artists, attorneys and students of art and law.
Cultural Heritage, Cultural Rights, Cultural Diversity: New Developments in International Law by
Explores the recent evolution of cultural heritage law which has resulted in the emergence of a new international conscience, rooted in the awareness that cultural heritage represents a holistic notion strongly connected with the identity of peoples as well with individual and collective human rights
Cultural Heritage Issues by
The global community, dependent as always on the cooperation of nation states, is gradually learning to address the serious threats to the cultural heritage of our disparate but shared civilizations. The legacy of conquest, colonialization, and commerce looms large in defining and explaining these threats. The essays contained in this challenging volume are based on papers presented at an international conference on cultural heritage issues that took place at Willamette University.
Cultural Property: A Legal Research Guide by
This guide contains information on primary law, secondary resources and non-legal resources relating to cultural property. It includes listings of international conventions with annotations, and also contains information on non-governmental organizations concerned with cultural property and ethical codes that relate to the topic.--Publisher.
Cultural Property Acquisitions by
Museum staff--whether new to the field or working with collections for decades--are often overwhelmed by the complexities of acquiring cultural property, particularly antiquities and archaeological material. Collecting practices now require a greater degree of transparency and cooperation with various stakeholders than in the past, and are under greater scrutiny to be in line with current legal requirements and ethical expectations. This book provides a concise, unbiased, and practical resource for those tasked with navigating the complicated and rapidly changing legal and ethical landscape governing the acquisition of cultural property and archaeological material.
Rights and Reproductions: The Handbook for Cultural Institutions by