Skip to Main Content

Sharon Bradley - Curriculum Vitae: Professional Activities

Professional Organizations

1. Association of American Law Libraries, Member 1993-Present

  • Caucuses, Committees & Special Interest Sections
    • Academic SIS  1993-present
      • Bylaws Committee Chair 2015-2017
      • Collection Development Committee 2021-2023
    • Technical Services SIS 2015-present
      • Preservation Committee Chair 2015-2018
      • Ad-hoc Committee on Standing Committees 2016-2018
    • Law Repositories Caucus 2016-Present
    • Annual Meeting Program Committee 2016-2017
    • Annual Meeting Program Committee 2017-2018
    • Placement Committee 1995-1997
  • Program Coordinator, Moderator, and/or Speaker
  • Meeting Attendance
  • 1993 Boston, MA
    • CONELL Participant
  • 1994 Seattle, WA
  • 1995 Pittsburgh, PA
  • 1996 Indianapolis, IN
  • 1997 Baltimore, MD
  • 1999 Washington, DC
  • 2000 Philadelphia, PA
  • 2002 Orlando, FL
  • 2003 Seattle, WA
  • 2004 Boston, MA
  • 2005 San Antonio, TX
  • 2006 St. Louis, MO
  • 2008 Portland, OR
  • 2011 Philadelphia, PA
  • 2015 Philadelphia, PA
  • 2016 Chicago, IL
  • 2017 Austin, TX
  • 2018 Baltimore, MD
  • 2019 Washington DC
  • 2020 Virtual Conference
  • 2021 Virtual Conference
  • 2022 Denver, CO
  • 2023 Boston, MA
  • 2024 Chicago, IL

B. Computer Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)

C. Georgia Library Association (GLA), Member 2014-present

D. Legal Information Preservation Alliance (LIPA)

  • Law Library representative 2011-present
  • Website manager 2012-2018
  • PALMPrint futures working groups 2015-2018
  • Vice-Chair/Chair-Elect 2018-2019
  • Chair 2019-2020
  • Member at Large 2020-2022
  • LawArXiv Exploratory Committee 2021
  • PALMPrint Collection Development Committee 2024

E. Society of American Archivists (SAA), Member 2012-present

  •     2014 Annual Meeting, Washington DC
    • Program speaker - “How We Saved History”

F. Society of Georgia Archivists, Member 2018-present

  • 2018 Annual Meeting, Athens, GA

F. Southeastern Chapter of the Association of American Law Libraries (SEAALL), Member 2004-present

  • Committee Membership
    • Government Relations 2007-2009
    • Annual Meeting Program  2010
    • Education & Publications 2011-2013
    • Website editor 2012-2018
      • Developer of new website and membership management system using Wild Apricot
    • Government Relations 2019 - 2021
      • Chair, 2020-2021
  •     Meeting Attendance
    • 2006 Raleigh, NC
    • 2007 Baton Rouge, LA
    • 2008 Alexandria, VA
    • 2009 Athens, GA - member of local arrangements committee
    • 2010 Williamsburg, VA
      • Program Coordinator and Moderator - “Library in Hand: Mobile Technologies In Your Library”
    • 2011 Columbia, SC
      • Program Speaker - “Designing and Preserving Special Collections”
      • Program Coordinator and Speaker - “Less is More: Programming Efforts That Won't Drive You Crazy”
    • 2013 Decatur, GA
    • 2014 Knoxville, TN
    • 2016 Dallas, TX (joint meeting with SWALL)
    • 2017 Raleigh, NC
    • 2018 Nashville, TN
      • Program Speaker - "The Changing Landscape of Digitization and Preservation"
    • 2019 Hot Springs, VA
    • 2020 Virtual Conference
    • 2021 Virtual Conference
      • Program Coordinator and Speaker - "Scratching the Repository Itch: Establishing an Institutional Repository from Scratch"
    • 2022 Virtual Conference
    • 2023 Richmond, VA

G. Atlanta Law Libraries Association, Member 2013-present

  • Website Committee 2015-2016

H. Government Documents Roundtable of Michigan, Member 1994-2003

  • Secretary 1997-1998
  • Program Chair/President-Elect 2001-2002
  • President 2002-2003

I. Michigan Chapter of the Association of American Law Libraries (MichAALL), Member 1993-2003

  • Newsletter Editor 1996-1998

J. Institute for Law Teaching and Learning

Development & Training

2024

  • Licensed Librarian, Georgia State Board for the Certification of Librarians

2023

2022

2021

2020

2019

2018

  • Sustainability Across the Curricula Workshop grant recipient
    • Continuing Faculty Learning Community through 2019
  • Institute for Law Teaching & Learning, Spokane, WA (June)

2017

  • UGA Center for Teaching & Learning workshops on effective assessments and developing learning outcomes
  • Digital Libraries Forum + National Digital Stewardship Alliance, Pittsburgh, PA (October)
    • Program Speaker - "Is This Legal? A Brief, Very Brief, Look at Current Legal Issues in Digital Preservation"

2016

  • Dallas Association of Law Libraries Spring Institute (April)
  • Creating Engaging Digital Content to Teach and Promote Library Services (AALL webinar)
  • July 11 - Bleeding Control for the Injured, National Association of Emergency Medical Technicians
  • LYRASIS Member Summit (October)
  • The Digital Shift: The Service Continuum (Library Journal online conference) (October)

2015

  • Increasing the Web Visibility of Libraries (webinar) (January)
  • Digitization Is Possible: Identifying & Overcoming Barriers (webinar) (February)
  • User-Friendly Library Websites: Site Navigation & Design (webinar) (March) AALL
  • Law Repositories 2015: Shaping the Future (March)
    • Program speaker: Is Digitization Preservation? Debating the Details
  • User-Friendly Library Websites: Writing Content for the Web (webinar) (April) AALL
  • OHMS: Enhancing Access to Oral History Online workshop, Georgia State University
  • GoToWebinar - Anticipate as a Strategic Leader (AALL)
  • Drupal Camp Atlanta (October)

2014

  • The Accidental Digital Curator: Acquiring and Preserving Digital Archives (online conference)
  • Handheld Librarian 9 (two day online conference)
  • Basic Excel one-day workshop (August)
  • Advanced Excel one-day workshop (August)
  • Rethinking Library Instruction: Libraries as Social Learning Centers, ALA Editions eCourse, 4 weekly units (October)
  • 404/File Not Found: Link Rot, Legal Citation and Projects to Preserve Precedent, online conference (October)
  • PALMPrint online meeting
  • Drupal Camp Atlanta (October)
  • Project Management one-day workshop (November)
  • Rethinking Library Instruction: Libraries as Social Learning Centers (ALA eCourse, 4 weeks)
  • Awarded the Digital Archives Specialist certification by the Society of American Archivists
  • Taking Care of Business: Operations after an Emergency, UGA Office of Emergency Preparedness (June 14)
  • Preserving Digital Archives, Society of American Archivists, Atlanta (May 21)

2013

  • Behavior Styles, Effectiveness Institute (two-day workshop at T&D)
  • Springshare SpringyCamp (online conference)
    • May 16 & 17 - SpringShare4Everyone
  • Society of American Archivists
  • Rare Book School: Legal Books: History and Connoisseurship, Yale University, June 17-21
  • Handheld Librarian 7 & 8 (day-long online conferences)
  • New Librarianship Master Class
  • Oct. 15 - Disaster Psychology, Office of Emergency Preparedness
    • Sam D. Bernard, Ph.D.
  • Drupal Camp Atlanta

2012

  • CERT Refresher Course, UGA Office of Security and Emergency Preparedness, July 13
  • Inreach and Outreach for Digital Archives,  Society of American Archivists, University of Georgia, June 15
  • Drupal Camp, October 27
  • Basic Electronic Records, Society of American Archivists, St. Simon's Island, GA November 7
  • Springshare SpringyCamp (online conferences)
    • April 13 - Integration: Within Springshare Products and Beyond
    • Nov. 14 - Focusing on UX

2011

  • Basic Emergency Preparedness Overview March 14
  • Evacuation Chair Training June 22
  • High Impact Leadership Certificate Program, UGA eHRD (Human Resources & Development) April 27
  • Nonprofit Organization Proposal Development Workshop, Grant Training Center, Kennesaw State University,
    • August 22 & 23
  • Drupal Camp, October 1

2010

  • 10 Weeks to a 2.0 You: Social Media and Web 2.0 Skills Training Course - weekly program presented by the Main Library began April 10. Topics included Google documents, Blogging & Tweeting, Photos, Films, Bookmarking, Wikis, and Podcasting.
  • Faculty Learning Communities, Teaching and Learning Online; www.ctl.uga.edu/flc
  • eLearning Commons Workshops for Course Designers - Quickstart, Learning Modules, Quiz Management
  • Drupal Camp Atlanta
  • Opening and Operating a Pet Friendly Shelter UGA Office of Security and Emergency Preparedness July 12
  • Webinars/Online Programs
    • Strategic Planning for Library-IT Collaboration, sponsored by Academic Impressions
    • Mass Digitization, sponsored by Lyrasis
    • Handheld Librarian 2, sponsored by Learning Times
    • Position Your Library as an Essential Service: Successfully Advocate for the Resources You Need, sponsored by LIPA, LLMC, NELLCO, series of four presentations.
    • Mobile Learning: Easy, Effective, Affordable, sponsored by Mobl21
    • Making Connections—Using Technology to Increase Student Engagement and Success, sponsored by Educause.    
    • Workshop for Instruction in Library Use (WILU) 2010 - Design, Play, Learn
    • Exploring the Mystery of Library Instruction: New Thinking for Your Information Literacy Initiative, sponsored by American College and Research Libraries (ACRL), series of three presentations
    • The Social Library, sponsored by Georgia Library Media Association
    • Handheld Librarian 3
    • Strengthening Programs through Collaboration, sponsored by Association of Research Libraries, series of eight presentations on scholarly communications
    • eBooks Libraries @ the Tipping Point, sponsored by School Library Journal /Library Journal
    • Mobile Learning: A 21st Century Learner's Perspective, sponsored by Mobl21 &  iSchool Initiative;

2009

  • UGA Community Emergency Response Team
    • Fire Safety & Extinguisher Training Feb. 11
    • Active Shooter Training July 8 & 9
  • National Incident Management System (NIMS)
    • An Introduction May 26
    • ICS-100 for Higher Education Ma 14
  • Drupal Camp Atlanta
  • Facebook, Privacy, and Your Digital Identity
  • Webinars/Online Programs
    • Libraries as Learning Organizations
    • Book Conservation
    • Handheld Librarian Online Conference, sponsored by Alliance Library System and LearningTimes; the law library opened this conference to the Main Library
    • Special Collections in ARL Libraries: A Discussion Report from the ARL Working Group on Special Collections
    • Twitter from a Law Professor's Perspective, sponsored by CALI
    • Web Work Flow
    • Planning for Exemplary Visitor Experiences, sponsored by the American Association of Museums;

2008

  • Web2.0+ and Professional Networking: Are you LinkedIn? University of Georgia Panel presentation with faculty members
  • NARA Records Administration Conference, Atlanta
  • AALL Workshop “What’s In This Box? Managing Archival Collections” July 12
  • Webinars/Online Programs

2007

  • Introduction to Special Collections Librarianship, Rare Book School, University of Virginia
  • Through the increased availability of webinars and online conferences, I have been able to continue my professional development and pursue interests related to library management and services, online learning, and the use of mobile devices in learning and library services.
  • I frequently take advantage of webinars presented by our various venders like LexisNexis, Westlaw, Bepress (Digital Commons), and NELLCO. These allow me to evaluate new products and familiarize myself with new features. In the interest of space, I have not specifically listed these programs.

2006

  • SOLINET
    • Just for Copy Cats (Cataloging Series)
  • SEAALL Institute
    • “Prepare for the Worst, Hope for the Best: Disaster Preparedness and Recovery for Law Libraries”, Raleigh, N.C.

2005

  • SOLINET
    • Basic Subject Cataloging Using Library of Congress Subject Headings
    • Promoting Library Services Using Blogs and RSS (Live Online)
    • Advanced Book Repair for Circulating Collections
  • UGA Training and Development
    • Time Management & Organization
    • Project Management
    • Dreamweaver Cascading Style Sheets

2004

  • SOLINET
    • Archives Preservation: Holdings Maintenance
    • Developing a Disaster Plan (Live Online)
    • Introduction to Grants for Preservation (Live Online)        
    • Intermediate Book Repair
  • UGA Training and Development
    • PDF Form Creation
    • Dreamweaver Level I
    • Dreamweaver Level II
    • Dreamweaver Actions and Navigation
  • AALL Workshop “Establishing an In-house Book Repair Program”

Mercer University Law Library |  Mercer University School of Law  |  Non-Discrimination Policy  |   ABA Required Disclosures  | Contact Site Administrator 
Mercer University School of Law - 1021 Georgia Avenue Macon, GA 31207 | 478-301-2605 |  All rights reserved.