The Anatomy of the Nuremberg Trials by 
East West Street by
A profound, important book, a moving personal detective story and an uncovering of secret pasts, set in Europe's center, the city of bright colors--Lviv, Ukraine, dividing east from west, north from south, in what had been the Austro-Hungarian Empire. A book that explores the development of the world-changing legal concepts of "genocide" and "crimes against humanity" that came about as a result of the unprecedented atrocities of Hitler's Third Reich. It is also a spellbinding family memoir, as the author traces the mysterious story of his grandfather as he maneuvered through Europe in the face of Nazi atrocities. This is "a monumental achievement ... told with love, anger and precision" (John le Carré, acclaimed internationally bestselling author). East West Street looks at the personal and intellectual evolution of the two men who simultaneously originated the ideas of "genocide" and "crimes against humanity," both of whom, not knowing the other, studied at the same university with the same professors, in "the Paris of Ukraine," a major cultural center of Europe, a city variously called Lemberg, Lwów, Lvov, or Lviv. Phillipe Sands changes the way we look at the world, at our understanding of history and how civilization has tried to cope with mass murder
Eichmann in Jerusalem: A Report on the Banality of Ebil by
Hannah Arendt's authoritative and controversial report on the trial of German Nazi leader Adolf Eichmann first appeared as a series of articles in the New Yorker in 1963. This revised edition of Eichmann in Jerusalemcontains further factual material that came to light after the trial, as well as Arendt's postscript commenting on the controversy that arose over her book.
Custom & Practice
Custom, also referred to as state practice, is a major source of international law. To learn about state practice, you need to consult the sources that explain how a particular nation has acted in the past. Discussion of U.S. practice is found in the Digest of United States Practice in International Law, prepared by the Department of State.
This set compiles excerpts from treaties, decisions, diplomatic correspondence, and other documents reflecting the U.S. position on major issues of international law and includes explanatory commentary. A really handy feature are the links to the full text of documents excerpted in the digest.
You can also find more documentation of U.S. practice in Foreign Relations of the United States (1861–date). There is a considerable time lag between the original (often confidential) issuance of documents and their publication in this series. All of these volumes are also available in HeinOnline’s Foreign Relations of the United States collection.
RESEARCH DATABASES
International Legal Research in a Nutshell by 
International Legal Research in a Global Community by
While treaties and international custom are the bedrock of public international legal research, other sources, including general principles of law, tribunal decisions, the writings of highly qualified scholars, jus cogens, UN resolutions, and soft law, must all be consulted for comprehensive research. International Legal Research in a Global Community offers researchers confronted with legal issues that implicate public international law a foundation in these sources of law, research strategies for handling them, and real-world examples that focus on the process for carrying out research. This book further refines the research approach for handling treaties and international custom based on the recent tentative drafts of the Restatement of the Law (Fourth) Foreign Relations of the United States and the 2016 Annual Report of the International Law Commission. With a chapter on cultural competency, and written from a US perspective, this book identifies areas where biases and blind spots may arise when researching and applying international law so that researchers may account for them. This book is part of the International Legal Research Series, edited by Mark E. Wojcik, The John Marshall Law School.
International Law Legal Research by
This concise yet comprehensive book is designed to be accessible for the beginner as well as useful for those with more experience. For students, the book can serve as enrichment for a doctrinal course in international law or as the basis for a stand-alone course in international law research. To allow for self-evaluation, the book includes frequent review questions to help assure retention. For practitioners new to the international area, each type of search tool and search strategy is covered in detail with explanations to provide background comprehension. This book is part of the International Legal Research Series, edited by Mark E. Wojcik, The John Marshall Law School. "[T]his new text is essential even if it cannot record every new database development. In fact, the best format for a text such as this one is indeed print. This title is not a brief "one off" taste of the subject but rather a comprehensive, detailed treatment. The quality of the content will stand the test of time. ...The text provides an excellent framework for new students to learn international legal research and for more seasoned legal researchers to hone their skills or fill gaps where necessary. ...The reader will want to pay special attention to Lyonette Louis-Jacques' Additional Resources and General Bibliographic References at the conclusion of each chapter. Her concise lists of sources should be part of every international legal researcher's toolkit. ...Most valuable of all, this text will give students the necessary context to understand what they are researching and why. This context is all too often lost in today's world of instant information." -- Anne Abramson, International Law Prof Blog "Given the increasing importance of public international law to U.S. legal practice, I also believe this book to be of great value to all law librarians (and at $35 I recommend every law librarian purchase a desk copy), especially the new breed of entry-level FCIL librarians who yearn for a training manual. No doubt I will read and reread this text until its dog-eared pages fall apart in my hands...I am now also indebted to Winer, Archer, and Louis-Jacques for helping me contextualize my growing knowledge of research sources and methods by connecting them to the historical evolution of international law. International Law Legal Research is particularly good at explaining treaties and customary international law and the related research processes in a useful and memorable way...The purpose of this book is to support those who need to complete public international law research for moot court, for scholarly research, or to handle a client's legal problem, and it is an excellent resource for those situations. As the first volume in the Carolina Academic Press International Legal Research Series, it sets a high bar for clarity, brevity, and utility. I am excited to see what other offerings may follow." --Catherine A. Deane, Foreign and International Law Librarian and Lecturer in Law, Vanderbilt Law School
