Circulation Desk
Reference Service
Library Director
Librarians
Staff
Amberly Cole
Brenna McNulty
Julie Register
From the Library portion of the Student Handbook 2023-24
Library Hours
The law library is open to law students with a BearCard (building access card).
Circulation
Circulation services, including the Reserve collection, are available during the hours listed below. Abbreviated hours will be posted via the Law School, law library website, and social media.
Carrels & Tables
Carrels and tables are available for study on a first-come, first-serve basis. No personal items should be left unattended. The library is not responsible for unattended items.
Do not tack, tape, or permanently affix anything to carrels, tables, walls, doors, end panels, or other furniture and equipment in the library.
Cell Phones
Cell phones should be on silent. All calls should be taken in the lobby area near the Registrar's Office.
Food and Drink Policy
Food and drink are permitted in the library. Keep in mind housekeeping services end at 3:00pm on weekdays when the Law School is open. Students should dispose of all trash promptly and properly and clean up any spills or messes.
Inter-library Loan
Unavailable resources may be requested through inter-library loan/document delivery services by emailing reference@law.mercer.edu with the details of the book, article, or chapter.
LawCat is the law library’s online catalog of library holdings, including print and online resources. LawCat is available on the web and at designated computers in the library. For assistance using LawCat, inquire at the Circulation Desk.
Lexis, Westlaw,and Bloomberg Law
Lexis, Westlaw, and Bloomberg passwords and access to other databases and services are distributed at orientation. The Introduction to Legal Research course will cover access and instruction. Student passwords are valid through graduation. Each vendor will supply its own cancellation date. Password sharing violates the terms of the agreement consented to by each user. Questions about access and use of Lexis, Westlaw and Bloomberg Law should be directed to a law librarian
The library web site, is a gateway to specialized legal research databases and resources, including full text sources and journal indexes. In addition, students will find a variety of subject guides to legal research, including an extensive list of Georgia resources. Links to LawCat and other library catalogs are also available.
Lost and Found
The circulation desk is the temporary repository for personal items found in the library. If you find or lose an item, ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk.
Microfiche
Microfiche and film are located in the library; inquire at the Circulation Desk.
Reference Services
Mercer Law Librarians assist users in locating information, developing effective research strategies, and identifying appropriate online and print resources. Reference services are available via chat, Zoom, phone, or email at reference@law.mercer.edu.
Reserve Materials
Reserve materials, consisting of items placed on reserve for current classes and other high-use items, are behind the Circulation Desk. Reserve items may be checked out for two-hour use in the library. Some reserve items also may be checked out for overnight use two hours before closing, and must be returned within one hour of opening on the following day. Lists of course reserve materials are available on LawCat, the online catalog, and may be retrieved by either the course name or the professor’s name.
Scanning
The photocopier next to the Circulation Desk also scans. Students may scan and email documents to their Law School email address, at no charge. For large documents, ask for assistance at the Circulation Desk. Scanners are also available in the first and third-floor tech lounges. Students may also scan to a USB drive.
Study Rooms
Study rooms are available for group study. All are equipped with whiteboards. These rooms can also be used for practicing oral arguments and presentations as well as for reviewing practice sessions.
| Walnut Wing | 225, 226 | |
| Mulberry Wing | 215, 216 | |
| Third Floor | 345, 346, 347, 348, 351 | Equipped with projectors, monitors, DVD players |
Law students may checkout whiteboard supplies at the Circulation Desk for two-hour periods.
The Lawyers’ Reading Room is a larger room that can be reserved for meetings, classes, workshop, and other events.
Checkout Times
Due dates and times are distributed at check-out. You may also refer to your Law Library Account.
Lost or damaged books are charged at replacement costs + a $15.00 processing fee. Lost & replacement charges will be waived if the item is returned.
From the Library portion of the Student Handbook 2023-24
Other Options
Mastering Legal Workflows: A Guide to Note-Taking Software for Attorneys
On behalf of the Law Library’s professional and support staff, welcome to Mercer Law School and the Furman Smith Law Library. The law library’s mission is to provide excellent services to assist its users in locating legal information and resources. The services include research and reference, instruction, and guest presentations for classes, seminars, or student organizations.
Students, faculty, staff, alums, and the practicing Bar have access to our rich and varied collections of print and electronic resources, both legal and non-legal. The library’s resources are accessible in the library’s online catalog, LawCat. Users also have access to the University Library’s resources.
In addition, the library provides a great environment with multiple seating options including carrels, tables, and group study rooms for collaborative work and assignments. You may visit our website or contact us to learn more about our services and resources.
Billie Jo Kaufman
Director of the Law Library and Professor of Law